//
you're reading...
Mood Playlist, Playlist

The Happy Playlist

Visiting a loved one’s grave. Being in a long-distance relationship. Reading the latest “Green Lantern” reviews. All of these things might make you sad. Like most normal people, you might turn to something to cheer you up: chocolate, a good book, or—my personal favorite—music.

So, for all of you out there mourning over the fact that your boyfriend chose to be an intern in San Diego or that Ryan Reynolds doesn’t actually read the scripts of the movies he signs on for, I have the perfect solution: the happy playlist! If these 15 songs don’t cheer you up in a jiff, then only God knows what will. If you’re already feeling happy, feel free to be happier.

Listen to the Happy Playlist

 1. “Time To Pretend” – MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

Cheer-up line: “Let’s make some music / make some money / find some models for wives”

2. “Chelsea Dagger” – The Fratellis – Costello Music

Cheer-up line: “Bring your sister over here / let her dance with me just for the hell of it”

3. “Touch the Sky” – Kanye West – Late Registration

Cheer-up line: “I think I died in an accident / ’cause this must be heaven”

4. “Float On” – Modest Mouse – Good News For People Who Love Bad News

Cheer-up line: “We’ll all float on / good news is on the way”

5. “You’re My Best Friend” – Queen – A Night at the Opera

Cheer-up line: “I’ve been with you such a long time / you’re my sunshine”

6. “Hand In My Pocket” – Alanis Morissette – Jagged Little Pill

Cheer-up line: “What it all comes down to / is that everything’s gonna be fine”

7. “Kick Drum Heart” – The Avett Brothers – I and Love and You

Cheer-up line: “It’s not the chase that I love / it’s me following you”

8. “Upside Down” – Jack Johnson – Sing-A-Longs and Lullabies

Cheer-up line: “I’ll share this love I find with everyone / we’ll sing and dance to Mother Nature’s songs”

9. “Fight For Your Right” – Beastie Boys – Licensed To Ill

Cheer-up line: “You’ve gotta fight for your right / to paaaaaaaaarty!”

10. “Beautiful Day” – U2 – All That You Can’t Leave Behind

Cheer-up line: “What you don’t have / you don’t need it now”

11. “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)” – Jason Mraz – Waiting For My Rocket To Come

Cheer-up line: “You can turn off the sun / but I’m still gonna shine”

12. “What I Got” – Sublime – Sublime

Cheer-up line: “Loving’s what I got / It’s within my reach”

13. “The Joker” – Steve Miller Band – The Joker

Cheer-up line: “Don’t you worry baby don’t worry / ’cause I’m right here at home”

14. “Instant Karma!” – John Lennon – Instant Karma!

Cheer-up line: “We all shine on / like the moon and the stars and the sun”

15. “The World’s Greatest” – R. Kelly – Chocolate Factory

Cheer-up line: “I’m that star up in the sky / I’m that mountain peak up high”

About Alex Smith

Alex Smith is a writer and musician from Minneapolis, MN. He currently attends the University of Missouri in Columbia and is pursuing a dual degree in journalism and english.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers

Latest Review

Awesome Lists

@asmiff

Blog Stats

  • 57,009 peeps
