//
you're reading...
Geographical Playlist, Playlist

The Mountain Playlist

So, as a 19-year-old home for his first summer away from college, I fully expected my family to decide to take a week off and trek from my small Minnesota town to somewhere cool for a “vacation”. I put “vacation” in quotes because a vacation is supposed to be relaxing, which isn’t necessarily possible due to the fact that my four younger siblings will be in attendance.

Anyway, the 2011 Smith vacation location somehow ended up being Colorado. True, my godfather lives there, and it’s an amazing state, but we’ve done the journey before, and it wasn’t pretty. My main issue with the trip is that we don’t seem to know what we’re doing when we get there. So, my only conclusion is that we will be driving by a lot of mountains and visiting even more mountains.

Therefore, I decided to put together the ultimate mountain playlist for those of you who may be looking for one. Plus, it gives me a way to block out stuff like this.

LISTEN TO THE MOUNTAIN PLAYLIST

1. “Wild Mountain Honey” – Steve Miller Band

  • A nice, drifting opener, featuring a laid-back instrumental track and Miller’s soothing voice.

2. “Mountain Man” – Crash Kings

  • “I’m sitting on top of a mountain…sipping on some sunshine.” Enough said.

3. “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

  • This classic has many versions, but this was the first to truly hit it big.

4. “Rocky Mountain High” – John Denver

  • One of my favorite lines in Dumb & Dumber is when Harry & Lloyd think they’re in Colorado, but have actually detoured into Nebraska. Lloyd: “Huh… I thought the Rocky Mountains would be a little rockier than this…” Harry: “That John Denver’s full of shit, man.”

5. “Mountain Song” – Jane’s Addiction

  • Killer bass line to open the song. Puts the “rock” in “rocky”.

6. “Sprawl II (Mountains Beyond Mountains)” – Arcade Fire

  • One of my favorites off of Arcade Fire’s Grammy-winning third record.

7. “Misty Mountain Hop” – Led Zeppelin

  • The first track off the B-side of Led Zeppelin IV, which means it’s like the second half of the Ten Commandments.

8. “Sugar Mountain” – Neil Young

  • A utopian song by Neil Young. If you didn’t hear all of that, I said it’s by Neil f’in Young.

9. “In The Hall of Mountain King” – Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross

  • I considered putting The Who’s version on here, but this beautiful instrumental from Reznor and Ross for The Social Network soundtrack is pretty cool.

10. “Rocky Mountain Way” – Joe Walsh

  • I’m having a hard time deciding if this video is kickass or just plain hilarious.

11. “Mountain Music” – Alabama

  • What else can I say besides: one of the most down home classic rock songs of all-time.

12. “Big Rock Candy Mountain” – Harry McClintock

  • This 1920s song was brought back into the public’s consciousness by the movie O Brother, Where Art Thou? I will admit that I throw it on my iPod on a weekly basis.
About Alex Smith

Alex Smith is a writer and musician from Minneapolis, MN. He currently attends the University of Missouri in Columbia and is pursuing a dual degree in journalism and english.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Mountain Playlist

  1. it the best vew i ever saw

    Posted by kikky melissa | January 12, 2012, 6:27 pm
  2. If possible, could you give me the information on the picture you used in this post? (source, photographer, etc.) I need it for a school project. Thanks.

    Posted by David | February 12, 2012, 8:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 283 other followers

Latest Review

Awesome Lists

@asmiff

Blog Stats

  • 57,009 peeps
